Beewriter

By Beewriter

Biathle

I actually headed upstairs to the gym this morning. It has been many months and boy could I tell, but I made an effort. The pool was virtually empty afterwards so I had a good swim then chilled in the jacuzzi and then the steam room.

I was so chilled that when I had my breakfast later at home I fell asleep whilst reading my book. I had to move at some point or I think I would have sunk into the depths of the chair for ever. I grabbed my camera and went out in search of a photo. I headed down to the Quays and there was a biathle event on.

I have never heard of biathle before. I squeezed through the crowd and took a few pics as athletes ran a 1500m course up and down the dock, swam 200m and then ran another 1500m. I did quiz a man on what was going on and he was very happy to fill me in. He had brought a team up from Devon and there were other teams from all over. It is affiliated to the pentathlon but the athletes only do the two events. I googled it and it is not to be confused with biathlons, triathlons or aquathons...I realised there are sports out there that I've never even heard of.

"You see that man there, he is Richard Stannard, you'll have seen him on TV." Actually I'd never heard of him but I have since googled him and he is a champion triathlete and biathlete...a winner of the Human race apparently. Well he didn't win today. He was very impressive as he gritted his teeth and pushed himself to the limit but he was completely outraced by another.

It was all very exciting and I have to say they were incredibly fit athletes. I thought I had worked hard today but I am a complete slob compared to them. Well I learnt a few facts today:

1. They had laces on their trainers but they were elastic runners for pulling on and off in a race.
2. The tight suits reveal everything, so not a good look for the likes of me.
3. I like swimming but can't run so biathle is not a sport for me.
4. Even super fit beings can struggle as one athlete collapsed in front of me.
5. It is a great sport for taking pics of.

...I wonder if they practise their running with swimming hats on???

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.