My family @ Loviisa

The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.
Augustine of Hippo

--------------

Today we visited my parents in Loviisa. Loviisa is about 90mk east from Helsinki. Loviisa was founded in 1545, as a border fort lamder against Russia. Most of the fortifications have been preserved. It is named after Lovisa Ulrika, the Swedish Queen consort of Adolf Frederick of Sweden.

My parents have a second home in that little town and spend some time there every month. We walked a lot today with the dogs in the hot sunshine and ate at the Laivasilta area.

Loviisa is such a small town that they have no traffic lights. They can't arrange driving school because there are no roads with two lanes going same direction so that you can't learn to switch lanes (the laws and rulings...). That's at least what we were told!

In the picture is my parents, my husband and our son. And all of our dogs! In the back you can see the church of Loviisa. Red-brick neo-Gothic Loviisa Church was built in 1865.

I'm so tired right now. I will get something to eat and then get some sleep. It's been a lovely hot hot day, but tomorrow is Monday. And the heat will continue!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.