Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Three-of-a-kind

There have been many blips of multiple butterflies on buddleia bushes. That to me is too easy - it like capturing dungflies on a coopat.

Here in the wilds of Fife, it is much harder to to get multiple butterflies in a single shot. This hemp agrimony proved to be an excellent draw. As well as 7 small tortoiseshells (three of them here) there were 2 red admirals (my first this year), one peacock (also a first), a meadow brown and half a dozen small whites.

Nearby I also spotted a silver-y moth land at the base of a nettle. Goodness me! Aren't they good at choosing the perfectly camouflaged site to land - and they have such faith in it, never flinching. Even 5 cm away I had to take a photo to convince myself it was still there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.