Yarn Bombing Portland's Broadway Bridge

Technically, yarn bombing is a stealth activity, but the Bridge for Blankets Project is an authorized installation to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Broadway Bridge. Small squares created by 150 volunteer knitters were joined to make four colorful sails that balloon out in the wind. When the exhibit is dismantled, the squares will be reassembled into wool blankets for the homeless.

Factoid: this was the first bascule bridge to span the Willamette. Look it up--it's a great word!

I am sparing you my terrible snapshots from the wonderful BlipMeet that I enjoyed at a Portland bakery this morning. Four urban blippers ventured out to meet this traveler and we spent a couple pleasant hours chatting about life in the BlipLane. Not only do I have poor People Photo skills, I cannot figure out how to include links from my IPad, so I won't tell you who I met!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.