Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

Nimrod Stainer

Nimrod Stainer, Cordwainer, born 1810, one of my more memorably named ancestors. I haven't thought of him for a long time until a conversation with my brother the other day prompted me to go back to the family history research I was doing as a joint project with my father years ago. After my father died I somehow didn't have the heart to keep it going . Anyway, Nimrod Stainer...since I last did any searches for him lots of new resources have become available online - including criminal records, turns out old Nimrod was an early Victorian criminal sentenced in 1842 for larceny to two months hard labour in the crumbling old medieval gatehouse that was Southampton gaol. It appears he didn't learn his lesson though as only a couple of months after his release he was caught again and sentenced to a further six months. After that it would appear he either went straight ...or got better at not getting caught.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.