An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Molten Fire over the Wheatfield...

Weather forecast was for very heavy rain this morning, so I was pleasantly surprised to find this fiery sunrise scene a bit earlier - though the sun did not actually appear, as the bank of cloud subsequently thickened.

This is a landscape with a sunrise, rather than the other way round, hence the big sky and inclusion of the foreground. There are allotments to the right, I left them as they are, to add interest and because, well, they were there!

Though shot using a tripod, this is not an HDR, nor did I use a grad grey filter. Simply used the big RAW file from the full-frame D700 and used selective dodging and burning - shadow extraction of the land areas and darkening of the sky. I wanted to show the scene as my eye saw it at the time.

Lens is my trusty old pro workhorse - the Nikkor D 17-35mm f2.8. Check out all that natural sharpness on LARGE

Thanks to all who hoisted my very early morning fisheye Blip yesterday up into the Spotlight - much appreciated!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.