PaulineW

By PaulineW

Migrant Hawker

An insect for a change! This is a Migrant Hawker dragonfly (Aeshna mixta). I had been trying to get shots of them in flight, but it was amazing how many dragonflies I thought I saw approaching from 10 o'clock before I realised they were some of the "floaters" remaining in my eye after my retinal tear the other week. so I gave up and waited by the Honeysuckle where there were loads of hoverflies, and where the dragonflies were eventually landing briefly having caught some food.

It has been a beautiful day today. Daughter and grandchildren will be returning home tomorrow following their 3-day stay near Rutland Water, but we have already collected the dog from them because he kept chewing up the guy ropes and barking at anyone passing the caravan! Methinks he needs a bit more training (or rather our daughter probably does!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.