Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

The sun will come out tomorrow.

Well I did wonder if we'd had our summer after all the wind and rain in the middle of last week but the past two days have been lovely again.
I went down to the harbour this morning and sat in the sun hoping that the kayaks that had just arrived would go out on the water before I had to leave, they did nt.
I was always abit worried when I saw white foamy stuff at the edge of the water as I thought it may be pollution but I have found out it's from the seaweed that forms a kind of soap when the tides are rough. Maybe it could be a money maker if bottled with a nice label.

The row of cottages are mainly holiday lets, one used to be owned by Penelope Keith of The good life /To the Manor born programmes but she now owns the bigger white building next to the club house.

The cottages date from about 1800c and the far cottage has part of the Old Smithy attached. There was also a distillery. a grain store , a wheelwright, a saw mill, gas works, piggery and Inn. So quite a busy area in it's time.

It was busy this Sunday when The Fortrose Regatta took place, the winds were too strong on Saturday for any sailing and although still quite blowy boats were out on the water moving at quite a speed.

Spent the rest of the day in the garden pulling up the ever growing weeds and dead heading. Had the company of my robin, a wren, plenty of siskins and a willow warbler and some very annoying flies !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.