Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

"New Toy"

It's arrived!

I must admit I couldn't resist this behometh of a lens. A lovely used example of a Nikon 600mm f/4 was on sale at a well known camera retailer. And then they dropped the price by £1,000!

No chance to try it at work as we had the funeral for our colleague today. The crematorium was packed, seated and standing. Such a sad occasion; his wife was so brave, supported by more than 100 colleagues and former members of staff.

So, when I got home I opened the packaging with anticipation, unclipped the catches on the metal case…………

……..and literally stood open mouthed at the size of the lens! And that was before I put the two part hood together and fixed it to the front of the barrel. For those of you who know the size of the D800, well it looked so inconsequential when attached to the lens.

I have taken some shots at ridiculously slow speeds and am gobsmacked at the sharpness I was able to achieve.

I suppose you will be expecting some wildlife shots in the next few days and weeks? I really hope I can oblige!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.