fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

London and South Western Railway

This morning, I had a meeting at Waterloo station. I like Waterloo at lot more since the mezzanine floor opened, and we met up there at the café that has a possible marketing issue (as I can never remember its name).

One of the nice things of sitting halfway up between the floor and ceiling is that you can see a lot of the stonework, which looks as though it has been cleaned up recently.

There were a couple of these stones for "L&SWRy". (I picked this one because I was born in Middlesex and grew up in Surrey. The other one featured "Hants" and "Wilts".)

I wish a bit more of this kind of thing still went on with new buildings. It's not just about the actual artefacts themselves, it's also the sense of care that they imply, of craftsmanship and of building something that will viewed by future generations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.