It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

You Are an Ironman!

Waking up is hard to do. Sometimes anyway. I am a morning person but felt rough. I reflected on yesterday and think I may have overdone it slightly. Liz had picked me up early and we headed off to Salford Quays for a swim. It was warm enough to go wetsuitless. I'm learning that although I go slower, the feeling of open water swimming without one is so much more satisfactory. I smashed the swim, then floundered out to put my trainers on.....continuing with a race pace effort, running in a one piece spandex suit round the docks.

I was home before 10am so had my 1st lunch of cheese, oatcakes and a fresh strawberry milkshake! Heaven. I woke up at proper lunchtime and ran into Glossop to do a shop! Praze, the local deli were celebrating their 5th birthday so I rehydrated with champagne and replenished my depleted carbs with Buxton tea loaf.

I had been invited to James and Laure's for an early birthday tea so cycled over to Marple for that. We all love food but they are never failed to be astonished by my knowledge of seafood and meat, despite being a veggie. Laure's stuffed peach was amazing. I did well too, choosing a very nice wine from Gascony where's she's from. A cheese course was essential too.... A favourite Isle of Mull cheddar, utterly different from the rubber bastardised offerings that one gets from supermarkets. The steep and long hill out of Marple Bridge was a struggle when heading home.

Back to feeling rough. Breakfast was small as I had a bike ride to do and I had slept in. I had a whole hour so did a repeated short circuit round the village, involving 5 ascents of a sharp wee climb. It took 2 of them before the legs started to work!

After a quick shower, I headed off to Bolton to watch the Ironman. The elite's had just started their marathon by the time I got there. Wow.... Some of them looked so strong despite a long swim and a 180km bike. The 1st person I saw that I knew was Bella Bayliss. She smiled as I cheered her on saying "I've no see you for years Bella". We both did the same Longest Day ironman distance race as our first one around 2001 and I wasn't far off her. Lots of history has passed though and she's won a few major Ironman titles since then.

It was great to see so many people from my club, Manchester Tri, some enjoying the experience and others appearing to be suffering big stylee. I also bumped into Dave Clamp who I've worked with a little and hung with him a bit. Me and my Brompton headed to the centre of Bolton to the finishing area. I met a group from the club who were there as supporters and we cheered everyone through the cobbled streets.

The biggest downside of the day was a churning stomach and tears welling up in my eyes. It was the emotion called envy. I wanted to be competing. I wanted to be in same heavenly hell as the athletes. I was looking at people thinking, "I can do that, just if I can keep the injuries at bay". I will be 42 next week.

I headed back to Manchester for swimming and my ego was put in place. Our coach Tony, brought his 10 year old daughter and she came in my lane. She kept up with everyone easily with her perfect technique. I got out early, having not eaten nearly enough, but didn't get rid of the desire to do another Ironman.

Finally, a thought for the day. When does self-reflection become narcissism?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.