NStephens

By NStephens

Family, that wallpaper & weddings

Well I made it back to the Riverina where I got a nice surprise....my Aunty was in town to see my grandfather (she had driven from Canberra). So after work I went around to see the pair of them at my grandfathers place and we had shared a few stories and got the latest updates from each other. When I took this photo it hit me how worn out the wallpaper actually is! Let's just say that it's been there for a VERY VERY LONG time!! I like how my Aunties red clothes contrasts with the drabness of the wallpaper. It seems to brighten up the mood in a scene which screams...old! The interesting element of this photo for me is the wedding photographs to the upper right. It's clear to see the top two rows of photos have faded somewhat (my parents are on the top row and got married in 1974!) whilst the bottom row is relatively ok from fade. That picture of the lady in the white wedding dress is the same woman sitting before you on the chair. She got married in 1986. It certainly is a house full of memories!
Have I captured the moment?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.