stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

Blown Away

The Twelve Apostles, Great Ocean Road, Victoria

A grey day, in colour!

I've had the most wonderful day today, one hard to describe but I'll do my best.

I intended taking a wander around Apollo Bay this morning before heading off but the Victorian weather played its part once more, and indeed continued to do so for the rest of the day. I've discovered over the past few days that you need to bring a certain level of patience with you when visiting this wonderful state but the rewards are well worth it. This morning though, I decided just to get in the car after the rain started. Five minutes later of course, the sun was back out. Too late!

After leaving Apollo Bay, the GOR cuts inland through the Otway National Park. It's a fantastic part of the road. The tree lined Tarmac opens out every now and again to views of valleys as you climb. However, it's the smell that really makes it special. Whether the rain had enhanced this I cannot say, but the fresh forest aroma was amazing. It's followed by the most wonderful series of tight s-curves and hairpins as you descend once more. I'm not a big fan of automatics, but the car came into its own today. In fact, I've been pretty impressed with the Toyota Corolla I was supplied. A nice ride.

First stop was the Cape Otway Lightstation, the latest subject for my mono project. In addition to the 1848 lighthouse, the 1857 telegraph station was the location of the first long range undersea laid cable, the 80 km run between Otway and Kings Island. The lighthouse was normally the first sight seen for immigrants and visitors to Australia. The lighthouse was built in an attempt to stop the large numbers of deaths in the approach between the mainland and Kings Island, some 1000 souls in only a 30 year period. It was here that I realised that the wind was going to be a factor today. As I walked out onto the top of the lighthouse on the leeward side all was well, but as I wandered round I was battered by the winds. It literally took your breath away. A fascinating hour or so was spent here. The guide had an amazing wealth of information about both the lighthouse and telegraph station. Really interesting visit.

On the road again, it was only a little over an hour to the first of my apostle stops, The Gibson Steps. 86 steps take you down to the beach 70m below. The sea was quite active today in the strong winds. The same winds were also driving weather systems through the region. All afternoon, showers followed sunshine. The next stop was the apostles lookout itself. I decided to go for a helicopter tour of the stacks. A flight was just about to take off when I arrived and I was asked if I wanted to jump on it. It was just the 10 min flight, but that was ok. There was quite a bit of buffeting while the helicopter was over land but as soon as it crossed over onto the water, it calmed considerably. 750m above the sea, it was a brilliant way to see the apostles, even if the weather was a bit grey today. The helicopter trip was followed by a visit to the lookouts themselves. A series of stops takes you from the headland out to the outcrop. I could have stood and watched the waves crash against the shore all day, but time was moving on and there were so many sights left to see. Fortunately, there isn't much travel time between them and in close order I made my way along to the Loch Ard Gorge, Thunder Bay, the Arch, London Bridge and finally the Grotto. Each of these features have their own story and unique and stunning views. I can't recommend enough, a trip along the GOR if you're ever in the area. It is truly a most remarkable and beautiful place to visit.

The light was dying as I left the Grotto and it wasn't a moment too soon. Within minutes of starting along the road, the heavens opened once more but at torrential levels. Passing through Peterborough, the road comes inland again, in a series of long, straight lengths with 90 degree turns. It's a welcome relief to tired eyes and a fantastic end to the days drive. I arrived in Port Fairy at around 6:30 and after checking in, I went for a wee wander and some dinner. Nearly time for bed again. I head out into the hills tomorrow. Following a wee diversion to Portland for another lighthouse shoot, I head off to Halls Gap at the base of the Grampains National Park for a couple of days.

Thanks again for your continued viewing and commenting. I'm glad you're having as much fun as me. Well, almost! :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.