to the rear

Compared to yesterday, lunchtime today was somewhat wetter. Something to do with the droplet size made the initially light-seeming rain incredibly penetrating and it only took a couple of minutes for my scalp to be completely saturated and for drips to start working their way under my anorak via my neck. Under these sorts of conditions not even I would be able to generate enough sweat to end up damper under the coat than I would have been without it and after a few more minutes the rain running down my sleeve into my pocket meant that my phone was at risk had I not had the slightly more waterproof pocket in the anorak to put it into until the rain abated a couple of minutes away from the office. I used to keep a towel in my locker for emergencies such as when it completely pisses it down on the way in in the morning but I'd taken it home when we needed all the towels we could find to clean the plaster dust off the floors and not replaced it. My T-shirt managed to dry out over the course of the afternoon but without sticking my shorts on the back of a chair by the window (where someone might have had to sit if there'd been a sufficiently large meeting at the meeting-tables) even the excessive heat of the office could not dry them out completely by the time it came to leave. If it had still been raining it would have been fine but leaving the office wearing visibly-damp shorts always makes me feel slightly suspicious and needlessly ashamed. My trainers were still utterly soaked and I had also removed both spare pairs of socks from my bag a couple of weekends ago but managed not to audibly squelch on the way back.

Tomorrow evening will hopefully be spent in a cinema so I went for another run this evening to make up for it in advance; a little rain but almost no puddles to have to watch very carefully in case they looked like they concealed asphalt-irregularities, fewer frogs and slugs to avoid and a little bit less damp calf-height vegetation to steer clear of in case it turns out to be poisonous though getting slapped on the thigh by a soggy plant is never exactly pleasant, though I'm sure someone somewhere does it for kicks. The giant cow parsley is progressing very nicely with the constant rain and sunlight and might have to be blipped this year if I'm down there with a tripod at any point to be able to illustrate just how big it is before the neds come along and destroy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.