A fish... biologist.

By HuskyLugs

Glendalough.

After a 6am wake-up call, awful Alpen porridge and a quick taxi ride into town me and Meriel arrived at St. Stephen's Green. After meeting Stephen, having a pre-race pep talk, dropping off our bags and assembling in our respective coral numbers we were ready to tackle the Rock n Roll Dublin half marathon.

It is a half marathon I have been looking forward to competing in since I realised this was the inaugural year. After completing the Rock n Roll Edinburgh HM in April both me and Meriel were keen to complete a second European Rock n Roll HM to qualify us for our World Rocker Medals - achieved by completing two European stops or one European and one North American stop.

As 8:30am descended upon us the atmosphere was beginning to heighten and all runners were in high spirits. My coral set off to the tunes of Jimmy Eat World after a cheery 10 second count down. The spectating crowd were on excellent form and we were met with a wall of noise. Personally I found the first half mile uncomfortable as I was struggling to warm up my calves enough but I was well under way before mile 2. The first 5 miles were in in a flash and I could still hardly believe it by the time I passed the 10K markers. The bands playing along the course were far better than those that played on the Edinburgh course and I think due to the better weather everyone was in higher spirits. The last few miles of the course I found a little harder to keep my enthusiasm up for but overall I thoroughly enjoyed the route and the event as a whole.

Maybe it was due to the flat course, or maybe I really am getting better, but I managed a PB at 2:20:44 and Stephen (who was running his first ever HM) managed an amazing 1:54:45! We were both so pleased with our results we even got our medals engraved.

Unfortunately Meriel was forced to walk the route due to a bad knee injury but managed to keep impressive pace and finished in under 3hrs 5.

Dublin, I think I may just be back next year to this all over again...

After a well deserved post-race feed and some needed showers the boys picked me and Meriel up from our hotel and took us out to Glendalough which was absolutely beautiful. Although next time I think if I was going to walk it I might not attempt it again in my brogues.

Far too soon it was time to retire and after a drive back in to Dublin it was time for the painful goodbye cuddles from Steen, Stephen and Conor.

Until we meet again, boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.