OnwardToOurPast

By OnwardToOurPast

Thinking of Kenya: Wednesday morning, 4 am

I awoke this morning to the news of the huge fire that is wrecking the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport in Nairobi, Kenya. Having flown through this hub for East Africa on numerous occasions, I cannot imagine the chaos there today.

I got to thinking about my most recent trip and pulled out a couple of items I had collected while traveling there. The bottle caps make up a tray and I admit to smiling anytime I pull it out for use. Some truly amazing and memorable times have been spent with an open Tusker Larger in various areas of Kenya.

The beaded items are a pair of earrings given to me by a Maasai woman on the plains of Kenya, in the shadow of Mount Kilimanjaro. The beading is on leather and, to me at least, they weigh a ton :-)

I was explaining to this beautiful woman, through a few words of Maasai, a few words of English, and a whole lot of hand gestures, that I was captivated by her earrings. We spent several hours together in her village and then, when I had to leave, to my amazement, she removed these and handed them to me.

They are one of my most treasured items from my travels in Kenya. I will always remember her and her generosity.

Onward ToOurPast

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.