Port Ban

Well it was our second day on Mull and we set off early to head over to The Isle Of Iona which is Scotlands most sacred Island where St Columba landed back in 563AD and passed away on the island in 597AD and supposedly where Christianity began well for years I have worn a Celtic Cross around my neck and it felt so right to be there although my faith was shattered almost 19 years back with the death of one of my newborn twin daughters Sarah and it made it quite an emotional visit/pilgramage indeed, On a side note the roads on Mull are very narrow if you break down well your on your own as phone signals are all but non exsistent in most places apart from the occasional village anyhow we got on the ferry for the ten minute trip over to Iona and headed straight to the Abbey to visit I also took some shots of the Late Labour Leader John Smith's grave as he is buried in the cemetery next to the Abbey a great man and he would have made a far better Prime Minister then Tony Blair but that is my opinion anyway well after touring the Abbey we headed out on a long walk as I wanted to find a certain beach that I recall seeing for only a split second on TV on a Scottish History programme so after studying good old goolgle maps on the satellite I was pretty sure where it was located, the Island of Iona is 3.5 miles long by 1.5 miles wide so it was straight across the other side of the island to hunt it down and when I came across it my first words were Stunning I guess the weather helps but it was just so pure in the colours of the sand and water that I climbed up the hillside to grab this shot if only you could garuntee the weather you would not need to go abroad and the beach was almost deserted but I could not resist wading in to the clear waters of the Atlantic Ocean it was great my mind drifting off thinking how beautiful this magical place was thinking of my daughter as well of the short time I had the chance to hold her in my arms so a time for reflection on my life as normally it has been all about work it makes you wish you were living the simple life that these islanders must have sometimes I get quite envious of how you can cut yourself off from the world at times and the islands certainly have that in abundance for sure but it was a great place to visit and one I will make again only next time I want to vist Staffa to see Fingals Cave and go inside it they say it is a great place to visit as well so I look forward to that the next time I go, on another note I will post a few shots of our trip on Mull&Iona and put them in a folio album or two and I took some shots of another stunning beach on Mull at Calgary Bay anyway movie for the day is pretty easy to say the least and is "The Beach 2000" Beach best viewed LARGE See Ya.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.