Cardigans

21.2C starting cloudy but not dull, clearing later with sunshine and a very light breeze.

I have been remiss in mentioning watering and feeding of greenhouse plants and outdoor pots. It continues on a regular basis. Tomatoes are developing nicely. Courgettes continue to grow. There is lots of mint.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went for our walk before lunch. The potato field is still being watered but the jet is further away from the bridle path so no fine spray today. The water they use is pumped from a pond so I think it best avoided.

There was a layer of cloud which did not inspire me to get the camera out of its case. Even down on the beach I only took a couple of shots. The tide was out. The rocks and beach had seaweed everywhere. Not attractive.

Mid afternoon I decided to go to the Coop for milk. Running low and there will be no M&S trip this week as Apothecary7 has her day off on Saturday as part of her week off for our holiday.

When I came out of the Coop I drove round to Westhaven. Maeve and I went down onto the beach. The sun was out and the clouds mostly cleared. The tide was in. We had a wander. There were people on the beach and people on the seats by the car park.

As we came back up off the sand to the car park we stopped to chat to the two ladies you can see sitting on the big log at the back of the beach. They wanted to know if Maeve was a Wolfhound.

"Is that a Wolfhound" said the one on the left of the blip.
"No, A Scottish Deerhound"
"Yes, A Wolfhound. He is a nice boy"
"A Deerhound. She is a nice girl"
"A greyhound? With a long coat"
"A Deerhound ..." I smiled. Not much else I could do really. We walked on, and I hoped her less deaf friend who was smiling and had heard me, would explain later.

This is a common mistake that people make. I don't really mind. It often starts a conversation and Maeve gets some attention. She quite likes that most times but it is never long before she is back bumping at my hip for my attention. Both ladies were wearing woolly cardigans. It was very hot. I felt it worth a mention !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.