ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Love.

Pentax K1000, Kodak BW400CN, ISO 400

Lovely day. M headed to the boat while I walked into town and picked up final holiday stuff. When he got home, we started packing and simultaneously getting ready for the wedding. Not easy!

M was feeliing a bit under the weather, so he went to bed for a while as I finished up. By the time we had to set off for the wedding, I was packed, the house was mostly tidy and I was dressed. Success (I still had to do my make-up in the car, though)! I went very 1950s with a mint-green whistles tea dress Mum bought me when I was 17 (I can't believe it still fits), and waved my hair into a 1950s style. I felt lovely - and M looked so handsome. There's a picture that I love of us both on my folio, and an additional one of the bride and groom!

When we arrived at the venue, it absolutely took my breath away. I adore 'shabby chic', and the place they had chosen was a refurbished cow shed - a massive building with a double-height ceiling and huge oak rafters supporting pale stone walls. Large boughs of birch tree hung in every alcove, with tiny orange flowers woven into the leaves, and 300 metres of bunting lovingly put together by the bridesmaids were strung on the walls. Tealights were on every surface, glinting on the mismatched china and illuminating the wildflowers in the recycled glass jars on the tables. It was perfect: I have never seen a more beautiful wedding venue. Everything was pale - mostly cream with orange-peach highlights. As the night wore on and dusk dropped, the tealights and lanterns lit the old stone walls and created beautiful shadows and flickering shapes... It really changed the atmosphere of the place and it felt like a different location. The ceiling is so high, it almost felt like we were dancing outside! I had a wonderful evening, spent mostly with A, S and baby F, who looked adorable in his mini kilt. The bride and groom looked happy and relaxed, the band were great and we had to tear ourselves away at midnight to get some sleep before we had to set off early to Cyprus. Wishing E and A all the best for the future!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.