Encounters

A bizarre fracas in the back of one of my classes today which I couldn't fully untangle.The restless boy who is so short-sighted that he can't see the board needs to be two or three metres in front of the one who reaches out and pokes people.

I took an hour out this evening to go to a very strange performance at Oxford Playhouse. The audience sat in total darkness wearing headphones through which we became part of an emotionally volatile, and ultimately menacing, encounter-style group. The sound was extraordinarily well done - for a while I believed that the voice whispering comments and instructions in my ear was for me only. When the lights came back up the audience sat stunned, not knowing whether to leave or not.

This was the view outside the theatre, just before I raced home to plan some more lessons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.