Eid mubarak

I live in Pollokshields, some may already know, which has a large muslim population; many of whom have been observing Ramadan.

Eid-al-Fitr, the festival to mark the end of Ramadan, is today.

Pollokshields now hosts Eid on Albert Drive to keep everyone congregating in the same area. I believe there is a light show. I thought that would be tonight but judging from the party atmosphere last night along the Drive I think I may have missed that. I live just off Albert Drive so I became aware of more and more people passing my window, cars piling up and tooting their horns, when night fell.

This morning my street and Albert Drive. and I'm sure all of the neighbouring streets in Pollokshields East, were covered in a festive rainbow of silly string (there's some in the photo if you look closely).

I took lots of pictures of various things today, but this was my favourite; a snap of my mini neighbours who were playing in the street in their finery when I got home from work. They've been enjoying the celebrations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.