This old house

This old house crumbles,
Who once stood at it's window,
To look at the world?


This was where I saw the goat yesterday. I went back today to photograph the ruins of the house. As I was getting the camera out a crow sat on the wall and looked at me ( sadly I wasn't quick enough) - a spirit perhaps?

I don't know what happened here. the lane now has many desirable homes, possibly this was from an earlier time, when rural folk subsisted on what they could grow and keep. There are signs of outbuildings, possibly to house animals.

Nature has now reclaimed her own. Nettles grow tall, in what must be fertile soil, and small trees spring up amongst the ruins. Goats and a horse graze here. I hope whoever looked out of the window is looking now and enjoying the beauty of it all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.