fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Sunnies

This is my friend Robin Grenville Evans. I nearly wrote my good friend, which I like to think he is, but then I realised it's been over a year since I last saw him, so that seemed a bit of an overstatement, really.

But I am very fond of him and this morning we met, as we did last year, at the Warehouse Café at the Brewery Arts Centre in Kendal. As I walked up, my 'phone pinged; it was a text from Robin telling me that he was there. But when I went in, he wasn't. I went back outside but he wasn't there either. (Well, obviously he was somewhere outside of the café but he wasn't immediately visible.)

I went back in and ordered a pot of tea and then came back out and sat at a table in the sunshine. A couple of minutes later Robin ambled up.

"You said you were here!"
"I was. And then I went away but I'm back now."

And so we spent an enjoyable hour or so, sat in the sun and talking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.