Denzil's occasional Blips

By denzilblount

Rediscovering vinyl

So my Bang & Olufsen Beogram 1700 (it's a record player!) is finally installed after many years sitting in a musty cupboard in my parent's house. I bought it years ago on eBay, but never really got the chance to have it set up properly.

This sudden activity was inspired by the semi-drunken purchase of a vinyl album (The Hayling Island Sessions - you can listen on Spotify) of a band that we saw perform recently at the Cornerstone Beer and Music Festival (Didcot, Oxfordshire). The band are from East Oxfordshire - Listing Ships. Both myself and Charlotte were impressed by their performance. Hence, purchase of aforementioned album.

Anyway, this is turning into a promotional piece, but I do not have anything at all to do with the band. I perhaps must mention that it is their album cover in the background and so I am not taking any credit for the beachscape. I believe that the album cover is the work of Giulia Biasibetti, but am not positive. With the amount of image 'stealing' that goes on over the web nowadays, I would prefer to at least have a stab at acknowledging the photographer, even if it is just a background to my own image.

I could have easily summed this up in the sentence "I got a new record player and this features in today's Blip!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.