Light & sight

By CameronDP

It's a small world...

...but I wouldn't want to have to paint it."

We don't hear much these days from that Zen master of the on-stage one liner, Steven Wright. Other precision-engineered droll-icisms from the once legendary comic include:

"The other day I put instant coffee in my microwave oven ... I almost went back in time. "

"When I get real bored, I like to drive downtown and get a great parking spot, then sit in my car and count how many people ask me if I'm leaving."

"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?"

"Right now I'm having amnesia and deja vu at the same time."

"I am getting into abstract painting. Real abstract -- no brush, no canvas, I just think about it. I just went to an art museum where all of the art was done by children. All the paintings were hung on refrigerators. "

"I went to the hardware store and bought some used paint. It was in the shape of a house. I also bought some batteries, but they weren't included."

"I got this powdered water -- now I don't know what to add."

"For my birthday I got a humidifier and a de-humidifier... I put them in the same room and let them fight it out..."

"I had a friend who was a clown. When he died, all his friends went to the funeral in one car."

I could go on (and on). I can almost hear that voice again...
...In other news, it has been both balmy and barmy today. August is popularly supposed to be a quiet month but I haven't seen much evidence of that - not round where I work anywayz...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.