Leanne's Random Photos

By Leannespics

New name: Bully

I was just pleased as peaches to see a new hummingbird in my backyard! Beautiful auburn color with green back! A Rufus, I found out. I took about 40 picutures of him today.

Katrina named him "Pretty" last month. Today, I changed his name. He keeps watch over the birdfeeders and chases any other hummingbird who comes to eat! Once 2 little guys tried to team up. One was the look out, while the other tanked up.

The funniest thing happened today when one of the others flew right up close to my window while I had my camera out. He just hovered right in front of me. Of course since i had the telephoto lens on, I couldn't get a focused picture of him! I believe he was making a complaint that the Bully was clearly being unfair and would I please put up some more feeders. So I did.

I saw some yellow and green ...uh.... canaries? .... today! I wasn't happy with the pictures too much. They were so cute, drinking out of my waterfall. I hope they come back for another photo shoot.

I can't believe I've become a birdwatcher. I don't even like birds as pets. I suppose if I don't have to touch them or feed them, I like to watch them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.