Snippets of Life

By betho

Graduation!

One of those 'one day' things. It is hot. Baking, parched heat. I wear my heels for 20 minutes before they rub my life into painful misery.

We drift about though the solid heat in our gowns only just aware in a rather surreal way of what is happening. The ceremony is cooler, i am seated at the very front until two thirds of the way through when it is my turn for my few seconds of stage stardom. A handshake, a spiel in welsh, a attempted hat doff and its all over and I sit down again wondering what just happened!

Afterwards trail back to a sweltering marquee for some sweet juicy strawberries and a glass of warm prosecco. Carly and I spend a long time searching for Renes to have a photo with her.

The family flop about under a tree, eager to move on and yet slow to move when the time comes. They wait outside as I gladly unburden myself of the heat trap gowns.

We eat at Carluccio's. In the cool air conditioned bliss we stuff ourselves with tasy Italian morsals and set off in the warm evening for home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.