Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

National Football Museum

We have been tourists in our own city today.

Although my daughter and I are definitely NOT football fans, we decided to have a look around the National Football Museum in the Urbis Building. We walk past it every time we go into the city. It was actually pretty interesting! The Subbuteo display brought back loads of memories for me.

My Dad and brothers were football mad, and my older brother had a huge collection of Subbuteo. My Dad made a stadium with sides, so the playing field was always nice and flat. My brother's favourite trick was to throw jugs of water onto the stadium to create a waterlogged pitch. My Mum went mad when he did it. Eventually, he rotted the pitch and his Subbuteo playing days were over.

After we had toured the NFM, we had lunch, fit in some shopping, then went to Manchester Art Gallery. They had quite a few interactive 'installations' - not my thing really. But they do get you talking about art.

It's been a really good day!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.