Plus ça change...

By SooB

Still husbands run seldom

We have a river at the bottom of our garden here, and today had a few hours down there: Mr B reading and bird watching, the kids getting wet and me taking photos of fast water going slow.

I was lining up another shot and Mr B was in the way, but since he was being very still, I chanced a couple of shots. He really is a very still person when he tries. He has asked me to stress that he doesn't normally stand gazing up rivers for long periods of time: he was actually looking for a kingfisher. I saw a kingfisher yesterday morning by our pool (he flew off before I could get anywhere near a camera) and Mr B saw it (or another) by the river this morning. I suppose he was being still so as not to disturb it - though frankly in that shirt he was fighting a losing battle of inconspicuousness.

Anyway, I had fun with the long exposure, ND filter shots (like this) but didn't really feel the bend in the river was giving me a chance at the view I really wanted... but maybe if I was out into the river just 6 feet or so I might get a better angle.... (maybe a bit). Anyway, there I was in the middle of the river, up to my knees in icy cold water, skirt tucked into my knickers in true 1970s style*, tripod up to its first extension in water, and sliding gently more and more into the sand... when I felt something nibbling my ankles. Here are my daughter's ankles demonstrating the nibblers. (Minnows?) You'll be pleased to hear I managed to get out of the river without dropping anything.

*I know using '1970s' and the word 'style' in the same sentence should be a crime. I'm hoping I'll get away with it because I'm in France and someone here was probably stylish in the 1970s.

Anyway, final link is to a wriggly lizard tail being held here by a 6 year old child to give you some sense of scale. This one specially for Meancoast who I know has been desperate to see it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.