Penguin Droppings

By gen2

The Prodigal Coot Returns

Back on the 16th March, I Blipped a colour-ringed coot.
http://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2859631

After reporting the sighting of this coot (Fulica atra), I had daily sightings of it up to Sunday 14th April. It was never with a mate and was chased by other coots whenever it went in the water so spent most of its time on dry land, only retreating to the water when dogs approached.
For 2 weeks after that last sighting, I visited the park daily and saw no sign of the bird in its usual location, or nearby, so I feared the worst. I assumed it had fallen victim to a dog or drunk youth, maybe even a fox. I'd even once seen a toddler attempt to kick it.
Occasional visits thereafter also failed to reveal the presence of this bird - UNTIL TODAY.

YIPPEE!

Today, Friday August 9th 2013, I saw and photographed this coot with its partner. It seemed fit and well and happy to be in the water with its mate. In fact I had to go home to get some bird-seed in order to coax it out of the water to have its legs photographed!

I can only conclude that a seductive female came along on that April weekend and stole his heart, enticing him away to 'who-knows-where' for a bit of what comes naturally to birds in spring. Presumably, the results of that fling are now off to coot university allowing the parents to return to this boating lake where free handouts from the public are always on hand.

I shall continue to keep a watch for this bird.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.