no more "hurry up"

Sienna has had a fun week at a Stagecoach camp - culminating in tonight's performance of 'The Lion King'. She was incredibly nervous this morning - as not one to just 'go with the flow' but tonight she was great - the whole show was. Great to see her confidence and acceptance of herself grow in other arenas outside of school.

However this post today really had me thinking today...so often we are rushing from one place to another - all at my speed and how many times have I not wanted to slow down to hers...

Tonight was an example, after the show and at 8pm we were keen to head home as we had come straight from work and had not eaten but Sienna had other ideas; "Please climb up here Mummy, it is really cool." I knew that it was just up to another tier of a run down car park but mindful of my promise to myself that I would slow down and try and see the world from her perspective, I came up. She didn't want to show me the car park but the view that she had gained from climbing higher - of the sun setting over the city. "See how beautiful it is Mummy, it is special."

Yes it was, as are the views of our children before they become constrained by time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.