Possibly the best

By Letters

This is my carpet - by Maj. Gen. W. H. Rupertus

The Carpetman's Creed was written by Maj. Gen. William H. Rupertus, often regarded as one of the most interesting figures of the Pacific Theatre. Rupertus lost his wife and children to scarlet fever in China and never recovered from the tragedy. As he led the 1st Marine Division at the Battle of Pelelieu and other pacific battles, he continued to battle depression. Yesterday his beloved Marine Corps celebrated their 233rd birthday. I have never quite come to terms with the ending of his mantra “there is no enemy, but Peace”. But it is from the man's heart so is perhaps worth repeating albeit in an ironic parodic style whatever that may mean.

“This is my carpet. There are many like it, but this one is mine. My carpet is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I master my life. My carpet, without me, is useless. Without my carpet, I am useless. I must fire my carpet true. I must shoot straighter than any enemy who is trying to kill me. I must shoot him before he shoots me. I will... My carpet and myself know that what counts in this war is not the rounds we fire, the noise of our burst, nor the smoke we make. We know that it is the hits that count. We will hit... My carpet is human, even as I, because it is my life. Thus, I will learn it as a brother. I will learn its weakness, its strength, its parts, its accessories, its sights and its barrel. I will keep my carpet clean and ready, even as I am clean and ready. We will become part of each other. We will.... Before God I swear this creed. My carpet and myself are the defenders of my country. We are the masters of our enemy. We are the saviours of my life. So be it, until victory is America's and there is no enemy, but Peace.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.