East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Azure Kingfisher

A suprise Blip today - 9 days since my op and 4 days since the stitches in my face came out and I was feeling much less depressed with the result. I have been hiding away a bit because with all the swelling, scars, bruising etc, I looked a bit of a fright! Today I could see an improvement, part of the scar from the base of my nose down towards my lip is almost invisible already - the plastic surgeon very considerately sliced down a wrinkle (smile line I should say) and it has blended in really well. The actual site on my nose still looks a bit awful but some of the swelling has gone down and I can see that in a few months it will be a lot better, and I guess some of the shock has worn off also. That, and also the fact that when I got the stitches out on Wednesday, I also got the Pathologh report, and it is all gone thank goodness.
So today we went for a drive - not too far but out around Palmer's Island and down an off road dirt track that we hadn't been down before. I spotted some native swamp hens but they took off before I could get close but I walked a bit further down the track and found a little lagoon near the river. I was taking some shots of a Royal Spoonbill that was on the other side of the lagoon and when I looked up this beautiful little creature was sitting so quietly in a tree right in front of me just a few metres away. He stayed there happily while I snapped away. He's only tiny, much smaller than other Kingfishers that I have seen - this is a first sighting for me of an Azure Kingfisher so it made my day and I am feeling much more like my old self again. Thanks so much to everyone who sent their best wishes - it is such a lovely caring community that we have here on Blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.