Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Newport Village Fête

Today’s picture is one of the many I took at our village fête. I am not a fan of this type of event and usually avoid them, but after some persuasion from Mr A, I decided that, as it was only about two hundred metres away from where I live I would go and take some pictures. Some of the people glowered at me, but no one actually asked what I was doing.

I chose this picture for two reasons, one being the dark clouds, the other because of the two people on the right-hand side of the picture. The person with the walking frame is one of our friends; he was born in the village and has lived here all his life, he was, I think, one of ten children, being the only one still surviving. Percy, along with another person, now deceased, was the station master for many years and together the two of them kept the station in good order, winning the ‘Best Kept Station’ award for many years. Percy is now in his nineties and unable to see, but still lives in his own home. His wife of sixty-four years has spent much of the last year in and out of hospital. The person with him is Wayne, he is not a paid carer, just a friend who takes Percy out, because he is that kind of person.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.