Ginger Pride.

I spent the morning tidying the house and then I went up to march in the Ginger Pride March.

Shaun Hitchins was running the show, and managed to get a couple of hundred people from Waterloo place to St Giles with a good laugh and plenty of photos taken.

When I was a kid I had orange hair, it is a lot darker these days, but I still have too many freckles to count and I'm more than happy to claim the status of 'ginger'. Especially after the cr@p I took off folk like Amanda Goodman and Sara Kerr in school. They are probably married with kids and perfectly nice people now. Back then 'nice' was not the word. I believe it made me a stronger person with a clearer knowledge of my own identity, but it was a painful road and part of Shaun's message was that bullying is very harmful.

Having said that there were plenty of real red heads and more than a couple of wigs marching today, including this pair of ginger-nuts.

Bet they make the Evening News....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.