stujphoto

By stujphoto

Anniversary Water Droplets

It was with some trepidation that I approached the garage this afternoon where I had got my water droplet equipment setup. It is all very basic :- a water tray, pipettes held in a retort stand, twin flash lights. It requires you to manage the water droplets with one hand whilst pressing the remote control for the camera with the other. Usually if your lucky the flash lights will flash three or four times in succession whilst you are trying to get the water droplets to hit the water at exactly the same time. The tendency in trying to keep up with the flashes is to press the pipette too hard and end up with a stream of water instead of droplets. With all this in mind I was hoping that I would get some reasonable coronas as I desperately needed them in order to complete the numbers in the anniversary blip I had planned.

I did get my coronas but they weren't wonderful ones so I went mad in post-processing to tart up my blip using every possible type of droplet and artifice I could lay my hands on :- dancing ladies, columns, star burst droplets. So what you have is a totally over the top, garish, totally surreal and over-cluttered image. It's as though I had to cram all the possible techniques from the experience of three hundred blips into one.

After all this effort at the computer, I am not sure I am fit enough to sing the usual praise of blipping that anniversary blips extol. I just know that this is light years away from what I would even have attempted when I first started. So even if this one isn't great, all the learning and support I've had from Blipfoto has been well worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.