misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Finally!

I have waited for two years for sweet peas to bloom. I would like them climbing by the front door...
Last year I guess it was too dry, they sprouted and died. This year, i planted the soaked seeds in the same place. Several sprouted, I added water, and my cat, PD Budd, also 'watered' and buried with enthusiasm. Such nice soft soil. Drat!
I found a few still living and potted them up on the deck rail near the house number. That was months ago...
The vines started but nothing happened. Then, that is, now in August, finally, a single pretty pink sweet pea. There are a couple other little vines climbing on this tiny trellis. There may be hope for another flower or two.
Never have I had such trouble with sweet peas.
Next spring I shall try a different plot of soil for them. Cover it to keep the cat off. It may not be entirely PD Budd's fault since a gardening friend told me that none of hers have grown this year.
But...only one bud & in August!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.