I want to believe..

By Poondash

Happy Birthday!

Colin would have been celebrating his 45th birthday this week if it wasn't for the helicopter accident that took his & his son Johnny's life.

Being a big sports fan I'm crazy about football, basketball, grid-iron & even baseball. People even know I'm just as crazy about F1, not off the back of the popularity in recent years due to the BBC's 'TopGear' daft style coverage. I've been a massive fan since the day's of Mansell, Prost & Senna bearing in mind I'm still in my twenties.

But one thing many people don't know about me is that all these sports combined don't compare to my love for Rallying. Forget standing on the Kop on them famous European nights singing "you'll never walk alone", I've been there done that & even got the t shirt's. Nothing beats standing in a field [example] up to your knee's in cow s**t in the rain in late October watching people push themselves to the limit in unpredictable circumstances. Most of my hero's have came from rallying, McRae, Sainz, Makinen & the late Richard Burns a Great British driver who died 4 years after becoming world champion of a tumorous cancer, god help the papers if a footballer dies of cancer while in their prime.

I must admit the rally scene has died on it's arse due to the global recession & in my eyes mostly due to the French git that is Sebastian Loeb. Today in the world championship there are only 2 official teams (imagine F1 with just 2 teams) when everyone followed suit by dropping out of the sport when Mitsubishi then Subaru left the sport for money reasons. Loeb during this didn't help by becoming 9 times world champion consecutively, while deserving each title his hold on WRC was 10 times as soul killing as Schumacher's in F1, Rossi's early years in MotoGP & what Vettel is laying down at the moment.

But still I love it & while I know this is a little known secret of mine one person does fully know about it.. Miss Poondash who I usually make stand with me in the muddy fields.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.