Patti Smith (again)

Patti Smith time again! Greg and I head to St Albans via a lovely picnic by the water in Lea Valley. I can't work out why never been there before; we only saw a tiny bit of the park, so I'd definitely like to go back. When we got to St Albans we had a wander round the cathedral and park, before having a shandy in a pub that claims to be the oldest in the UK. Greg was delighted when someone brought a King Charles Spaniel in to the bar; the same bar where Oliver Cromwell hid out. Afterwards, we had a really tasty meal in Bill's. Apparently it's a chain, but I've never heard of it before- it was a bit contrived, but when there's a halloumi burger and ginger beer on offer, that's ok with me. Then on to the gig, and she was obviously incredible. Tonight she was playing an acoustic set with Tony Shanahan and interspersed the songs with readings from Just Kids, random little stories and lots of giggling. I hadn't heard her acoustic before so it was great to hear how different the songs sound. During the encore, lots of people left their seats and went up to the front, so I joined them leaning on the stage, singing along to People Have the Power. Ah, I love her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.