West Coaster

By WestCoaster

On the beat

Today brought little relief, the hand still very painful, the pain relief discarded for as long as I can bare due to the nausea. Mimi was bowling today, a G & D competition she was very excited to be going to another club to play against new people. She played very very well, acquitting her self admirably, a credit to herself. The day was marred by squally showers that rolled up our river but it did little to dampen the enthusiasm of the competitors.

I toyed with skating today while Mimi was competing but it was not to be, with the pain in my hand overcoming my enthusiasm to be on the ice I reluctantly decided not to go home and get my skates (which Mimi never lifted from the house despite being asked) I thing he had telepathically been receiving vibes from my friend!!!! My conciliation was that the club Mimi was playing at today sits on the hill above our river and there was a regatta that occupied my lens for periods of the day. I liked this shot, one of the competitors round the mark, spinnaker struck and off on the beat to the next mark whilst one of the chasers spinnaker still full of wind charging for the mark trying to make up precious seconds on the fleet. I loved watching the small battles within the fleet away from the leaders.

It was a good day to race, the wind too strong for the pleasure cruisers and the rain driving through the fleet like pearloid daggers at times the crews gear pulled in around their faces to save the stinging. I hope you enjoy this little action shot, a contrast with yesterdays view of our river, as usual best viewed in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.