Dancing Raven

I think I may have it figured out. Don't quote me on that... but I do think this is a young raven. I've been having a very hard time trying to decide which bird is which when it comes to the crows and ravens. This guy's head is shaped quite differently from the other birds and he seems to have a puffed out chest which ravens have. (If anybody out in blip land knows the truth about this, please let me know.) In any case here he is, doctored up because the photo worked better for me that way. Dancing higher and bigger.

I posted all the other photos I took today on Chaikins of Bellingham. If I have it right, the top two black bird photos are of a young raven. The next two are of a young crow. The last photo is a close up of the flicker and a starling on our suet feeder. I almost posted that photo today but I loved the leaping raven and chose that one instead.

Hope you all are having and had a wonderful weekend.

Filterama by accident. Just so happens I used the Posterize filter on this photo. I did it at level 3 which caused the effect on the background and with the top and second sliders all the way to the left. You can see the unfiltered version in the entry on Chaikins of Bellingham. Just follow the link above.

NOTICE: Word from my biologist friend who commented on Facebook. This is a crow, not a raven.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.