Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

...and the livin' is easy

I've had this piece of sheet music at least since my first year of high school, which makes it 48 years old (and it must have been used when I got it). It's tattered and torn and taped up and yellowed. Well used loved. The publish date is 1935 - Gershwin Publishing Corp, RKO Building, NY, NY. "Sole selling agent," it proclaims. There's also a music store stamp on the bottom from Salt Lake City, which means it might have belonged to my Grandfather who lived in SLC-- I have a lot of his sheet music from nearly 100 years ago when he sang vaudeville and on radio.

This one is special, though, because unlike most of the others, I actually sing it! And in fact will be singing it solo in a concert next week - the end-of-term performance for the chamber choral ensemble I've been part of at the voice institute.

Just a couple more weeks of apprenticeship classes! Plus many more hours to spend on the skills assessment. So close I can taste it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.