The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

Ghost Town

Today I had a "free pass" so I packed my bag and headed for the ghost town of Polphail in Argyll. I had reasd about this place and wanted to explor it for myself. Built in the early '70's to service a nearby planned oil platform construction site (which never happened) the "village" had been left abandoned for 40 years. The houses are very creepy and there were creeks and bangs going on as I wondered through the abandoned rooms.

In 2009 a group of graffiti artists were given permission to spray the buildings - this only adds to the chill of the place. This is a shot of washing machines in the communal laundry area. Think someone's looking at me!

This is a truly unique place in Scotland and well worth a visit - particularly for those who like a bit of horror in their lives!

If you want to see more of my shots of Polphail, click here.


Copyright © 2013 Martin McGougan. All rights reserved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.