PaulineW

By PaulineW

Agriphila

This moth was in my moth trap when I inspected it this morning. I think it is Agriphila selasella but I am not sure because that is (according to my books) a coastal species and we are not particularly close to the coast. It might be Agriphila tristella which I have caught before - can anybody confirm the ID? I have sent a jpg to the Lincolnshire County Recorder who identifies tricky moths and am awaiting a reply.

STOP PRESS: Confirmed as Agriphila selasella by the Lincolnshire County Moth Recorder!

This moth is what is known as a "micro moth" and is about 1.25 cm long from left to right in this image. Micro moths are generally much smaller than those we see normally.

Agriphila species are Grass Moths, whose larvae not surprisingly live amongst grasses.

Have a look at the larger view.

It is another lovely coolish day today - long may this weather last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.