WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Bright

When we went to the festival of music held at Notre Dame de la Consolation a week ago, we were surprised to see several fields full of sunflowers. Not a typical crop around here, and when I'd been there only about three weeks earlier these fields had just been scrub.

I'd decided to go back to take some photos, but I didn't get around to it till today. What I really wanted was a photo of the sunflowers with Notre Dame in the background. But googling sunflower orientation told me that sunflowers decide which direction to face at the bud stage (usually east), and once they've done that they don't change their minds, or turn to follow the sun during the course of the day. It wasn't actually possible to get a photo with both the chapel, and the sunflowers pointing the right way. Annoying! So instead I just wandered around the field taking photos at various angles. I like the contrasts in this one, and it's a while since I've done a flower blip.

PS: do look in large: it's glorious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.