The Pevensie Dilemma

By PevensieDilemma

Helpful Discomfort

Please excuse the low quality of my photo today - I had to zoom in quickly to capture my guest!

My little friend surprised me when he crept up to feed on the ground beside me this afternoon. He even dared to show off his blazing orange plumage!

He didn't surprise me with noise - far from it. He surprised me because his presence created an immediate cognitive dissonance in my brain!


Cognitive dissonance is the discomfort experienced when simultaneously holding two or more conflicting cognitions: ideas, beliefs, values or emotional reactions.

I'm so used to associating the robin with winter. So used to seeing his precious form sitting on a snow covered branch.

But, it's mid August!!

And thus, the reason for my discomfort.

I studied him for a while and realised he was just a babe. Fluffy, tardy feathers gave the game away.

The realisation quickly reduced my dissonance and helped me move toward and accept the new picture.

I often aim to create some level of dissonance whilst coaching. When individuals hold a view of where they are now compared to a strong image of where they'd like to be and what they'd like to achieve, dissonance works in their favour.

As human beings, we'll do one of two things when faced with dissonance. We'll play down or criticise one belief or we'll find ways of creating a stronger image with the other - sometimes through goal setting and affirmation.

Both actions will reduce dissonance - That's where the choices we make come in to the equation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.