Country File

By marypot

No time for losers

One of Grace's friends turned 6 today and we met up at the Wentworth in Hexham for a round of bowling and lunch plus soft play. Ophelia proved to be something of a bowling superstar! She was thrilled to do so well. Grace, bless her, kept saying "It's ok if I lose. It's ok if I lose". I think this is a mantra she must hear a lot (her self confidence is low) and though it is good to be a gallant loser sometimes, I also kind of think kids are missing a competitive streak nowadays. It's a tough one to deal with, though, when she says "I always come last in races." I just tell her to do her best and that she is better than others at different things.
Earlier in the day we went to the Metro Centre for an hour or so to get a few things for Grace's own 6th birthday, which is in less than two weeks' time!
224/365 completed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.