Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

I got Google-mapped!

Well, that was weird. I was walking from work at York University to the GO station tonight per usual when this little white car passes by, turns around and passes by again. It had no markings but it had an antenna-like gizmo on it shaped like a rocket launcher with a spinning whirligig on it. It looked like as slimmed and trimmed version of Google's street mapping device and it caught me walking along Canarctic Drive.

It might not have been Google. It might have been Microsoft or some other service but I'm sure it was a street mapper. I walked some more and it passed by at the intersection ahead of me but from a side street. I turned to see if I could catch it on the next corner. I was too late. It did circle around again onto the street I was on so I whipped out my phone and took this really lousy and late shot on Petrolia Road and Wildcat Road. All I got was the butt end of the car and little bits of the pole camera device at extreme right.

Of course, I was photographed again. I'll have to look up these services in a few months to see if I'm on one of these streets - once, possibly twice. I know faces are fuzzed out but my twisted walking stick, photographer's vest, and cowboy hat will certainly give me away. What a peculiar end to the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.