Durdle Door

We huffed and puffed our way up the coastal path from Lulworth Cove this morning to Durdle Door.

The coastline of the Isle of Purbeck is Jurassic and breathtaking at every turn. Landscape photography is definitely not my strong suit but this is a place I have wanted to see for a long time and the way I want to remember this day via my journal.

Obligatory local ice cream in Lulworth then headed for Swanage and the Grand Hotel (dontcha know) overlooking the bay. It is 'grand' in the way that only English seaside hotels can be; slightly faded glamour, terribly proper and completely down to earth all at the same time.

Swanage itself is a bit the same, we took a walk along the beach and into town - it warmed my cockles to see three generations playing cricket on the sands and people eating fish and chips off proper china outisde their beach huts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.