TuppenceAbag

By TuppenceAbag

Wrong way round.

I wrote a story once,
when I was eight.
I like stories.
Always have.

This one was for
school. Blue exercise
book. Standard issue.
Lined pages.

Proper pen, not a pencil.
Get me. So posh.
"Use your imagination!"
, she said. The teacher.

"It can be about
anything you want."
So I did. Use it.
My imagination.

"Food doesn't eat
people." she wrote.
In red pen. "It's the
other way round."

Giant apple pies
eating tiny people.
That doesn't happen.
Shouldn't happen.

It's not logical. Not
that I knew what
"logic" was. I was
terrible at maths.

If you're random. They'll
crush it out of you. Stamp
on the differences. Till
they disappear from view.

The same people, the
crushers, will laugh if
you dare to try
and fit in.

Can't have it both
ways. Or either way.
Pies don't eat people.
People eat pies.


Mez

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.